Pakistan News

PTI rejects govt, opposition’s nominees for NAB chairman slot

October 4, 2017

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has dismissed names proposed by the government and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) for next chairman of the National Accountability Bureau (NAB).

Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Opposition Leader in the National Assembly Syed Khursheed Shah exchanged the lists of their nominees on Tuesday.

Sources said Shah suggested names of Justice (retd) Mohammad Khokhar, Justice (retd) Javed Iqbal and former secretary of the Election Commission of Pakistan Ishtiaq Ahmed. Meanwhile, the prime minister proposed the names of Aftab Sultan, Justice (retd) Rehmat Jaffery and Justice (retd) Ejaz Chaudhry.

Opposition will not wait for MQM, PTI inputs

According to Express News, rejecting the recommendations, PTI leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi on Wednesday accused the government and the PPP of colluding over the appointment of the new chairman.

He said Sultan had recently met deposed premier Nawaz Sharif in London, saying he would be favourable to the ruling party.

The incumbent NAB chairman Chaudhry Qamar Zaman is retiring on October 10 at the end of a four-year term. As per law, the prime minster is required to consult with the opposition for appointing the new anti-corruption czar.

The PTI and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement are contemplating to replace Shah with their own nominee as the opposition leader. One of the reasons, they have been citing for the change, is to have a say in the appointment of the new NAB chief.

The post PTI rejects govt, opposition’s nominees for NAB chairman slot appeared first on The Express Tribune.

Source: Tribune News | PTI rejects govt, opposition’s nominees for NAB chairman slot

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.